The Catholic Church contains twelve basic articles of faith. These articles of faith are contained and professed in the traditional prayer, the Apostle's Creed. The prayer is called the Apostle's Creed because its twelve articles are a summary of the doctrines taught by the Apostles, who were themselves instructed by Jesus Christ. The articles can be clearly listed:

Art. 1 We believe in God, the Father Almighty, Creator of Heaven and earth.
Art. 2 We believe in Jesus Christ, His only Son, Our Lord.
Art. 3 We believe Jesus Christ was conceived by the Holy Spirit, born of the Virgin Mary.
Art. 4 We believe Jesus Christ suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried.
Art. 5 We believe Jesus Christ descended to the dead and on the third day, rose again.
Art. 6 We believe Jesus Christ ascended into Heaven and sits at the right hand of God, the Father Almighty.
Art. 7 We believe Jesus Christ shall come to judge the living and the dead.
Art. 8 We believe in the Holy Spirit.
Art. 9 We believe in the Holy Catholic Church and the Communion of Saints.
Art. 10 We believe in the forgiveness of sins.
Art. 11 We believe in the resurrection of the body.
Art. 12 We believe in life everlasting.

These twelve articles are the basic doctrines of faith for the Catholic Church and are considered primary when describing and defining the Catholic Church.