Welcome to the Diocese of Lake Charles

LAKE CHARLES – School calendars for the 2015-2016 academic year have been released by the Office of Catholic Schools in the Diocese of Lake Charles, according to Kimberlee Gazzolo, superintendent.

Catholic schools in the Diocese include St. Louis Catholic High School, Immaculate Conception Cathedral Catholic School, St. Margaret of Scotland Catholic School, Our Lady Queen of Heaven Catholic School, all in Lake Charles; St. Theodore’s Holy Family Catholic School in Moss Bluff; Our Lady’s Catholic School in Sulphur; and Our Lady Immaculate Catholic School in Jennings.    

Six of the seven Catholic schools in the Diocese will open classes on Thursday, August 17, while the seventh, Our Lady Immaculate, will have its first day on Wednesday, August 12. The difference relates to the different opening dates of public schools in the civil parishes of Calcasieu and Jefferson Davis.
  
School holidays include Labor Day, Monday, Sept. 7; Columbus Day, Monday, Oct. 12; Thanksgiving, Monday, Nov. 23 to Friday, Nov. 27; Christmas, Friday, Dec. 18 (half day)-Friday, Jan. 1; Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, Monday, Jan. 18; Mardi Gras, Friday, Feb. 5, Monday, Feb. 8, Tuesday, Feb. 9; and Easter, Friday, March 25 to Friday, April 1.
   Elementary teacher in-service half days are Fridays – Oct. 2, Nov. 6, March 4, May 26.  Full days for teacher in-service – elementary and secondary schools - days are Monday and Tuesday, Aug. 3-4; Thursday and Friday, Aug. 13-14; and Friday, Sept. 18.
  
Catholic Schools Week in the diocese is Jan. 31 to Feb. 6, with the annual Catholic Schools Week Mass on Wed. Feb. 3, in the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception.
 
Commencement ceremonies for the St. Louis Class of 2016 will be Tuesday, May 17.
   
Our Lady Immaculate will have the same holiday schedule and also be closed on Friday, Oct. 9, Jennings Fair Day. Christmas holiday begins on Monday, Dec. 21 and continues through Friday, Jan. 1. The OLI Mardi Gras holiday is Monday, Feb. 8-Wednesday, Feb. 10. The school will not be off for Columbus Day, Monday, Oct. 12.
 
The session ends at the schools in Calcasieu Parish on Friday, May 27 and on Tuesday, May 24, at Our Lady Immaculate.

You can download the calendars in PDF format below and print or save for your convenience.

2015-2016-elementary-school-calendar-oli.pdf (175 KB, 2015-03-31 11:47)
2015-2016-elementary-school calendar.pdf (101 KB, 2015-03-31 11:48)
2015-2016-secondary-school-calendar.pdf (104 KB, 2015-03-31 11:49)


DOLC Campaign
Support The Diocese
Event Registration
Grief to Grace
Rachel's Vineyard

Together For Life

Diocesan Policies & Guidelines

2017 DOLC Audit