Welcome to the Diocese of Lake Charles
2018-2019 DOLC Seminarians

Thirteen Men Return To Seminary Studies

The 2018-2019 class of men continuing their discernment and training for the priesthood for the Diocese of Lake Charles is one of its largest and each man has been assigned to various seminaries by Bishop Glen John Provost. The Bishop, seen center in the above photo, is seated with the class. Seated with him are, from left, Andrew DeRouen, Joseph Caraway, Deacon Michael Caraway, and Levi Thompson. Standing, from left, are Michael Beverung, Alec January, Josh Page, Conner Chaisson, Samuel Bond, Treville Belcher, Lai Nguyen, Olin Scot Chester, and Garrett Broussard. Belcher, Chaisson, and Broussard are the three newest men accepted by Bishop Provost for entry into the seminary. Deacon Michael Caraway, who will return to the Pontifical North American College in Rome following his fall internship, was ordained to the diaconate in June. He will join three other men, at the PNAC - Andrew DeRouen, Joseph Caraway, and Levi Thompson. Deacon Caraway will be completing his fourth year of theological study while the trio are in their third theological year. They, along with Sam Bond, studying at Notre Dame Seminary College in New Orleans, are expected, with God’s grace, to be ordained next June to the transitional diaconate by Bishop Provost. The priestly ordination of Deacon Caraway is expected at the same time.

New seminarians, Treville Belcher and Garrett Broussard, both in First Year Pre-Theology at Notre Dame Seminary and Conner Chaisson in First Year College at St. Joseph Seminary College. Alec January and Josh Page are in their fourth year of philosophy study at St. Joseph. Also, at Notre Dame Seminary will be Michael Beverung in second year theology, Lai Nguyen in second year pre-theology, and Olin Scott Chester in first year theology. The men represent 10 church parishes of the diocese – Michael Beverung – Our Lady Queen of Heaven; Sam Bond – Our Lady of LaSalette, DeQuincy; Levi Thompson – St. Theodore, Moss Bluff; Joseph Caraway – St. Charles Borromeo, Fenton and its mission, St. John the Evangelist, Lacassine; Andrew DeRouen – Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception; Lai Nguyen, Garrett Broussard, and Treville Belcher – all Our Lady of Good Counsel; Deacon Michael Caraway – Our Lady Help of Christians, Jennings; Alec January – St. Philip Neri, Kinder; Olin Scott Chester – St. Joseph, Vinton; and Josh Page and Conner Chaisson – both Our Lady of Prompt Succor, Sulphur. Rev. Jeffrey Starkovich, the pastor of St. Pius X Catholic Church in Ragley, serves as Director of Seminarians and Vocations for the diocese, overseeing the education, training, and discernment of these men. Additionally, before their return to school, three seminarians – Olin Scott Chester, Michael Beverung, and Sam Bond - were accepted by Bishop Provost to Candidacy for Admission to Holy Orders. The Rite of Admission is celebrated when a seminarian has reached a maturity of purpose regarding his vocation and has shown the necessary qualities for ordained ministry. Through this liturgical rite, a seminarian makes a public intention of receiving Holy Orders and resolves to continue his preparation, in mind and spirit, in order to give faithful service to Christ and His Church.

NEW ORLEANS – Two seminarians of the Diocese of Lake Charles, Deacon Samuel John Orsot and William Watkins Fruge, were awarded graduate degrees from Notre Dame Seminary Graduate School of Theology during the school’s 69th Commencement Exercise on May 10. Deacon Orsot earned a Master of Divinity Cum Laude and Fruge was awarded a Master of Arts (Philosophy for Theological Studies) Summa Cum Laude.

            Deacon Samuel John Orsot             

Deacon Orsot is scheduled to be ordained to the priesthood for the Diocese on Saturday, June 30, in the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception with seminarian Michael Caraway, who is to be ordained to the transitional diaconate during the Mass to be celebrated by Bishop Glen John Provost.

An Honorary Degree of Doctor of Letters was presented to Joseph C. Canizaro.

Archbishop Gregory M. Aymond, D.D., Chancellor and the Very Reverend James A. Wehner, S.T.D., Rector-President conferred the degrees.

             William Watkins Fruge

Graduating with a Master of Arts in Theological Studies were:  Nicholas Warren Adam, Diocese of Jackson, Summa Cum Laude; Austin Michael Ashcraft, Summa Cum Laude; Mary Elizabeth M Bielski; Wesley Thomas Branton, Magna Cum Laude; Josephine Linarello Duke, Summa Cum Laude; Claire Elizabeth Gallagher; Michelle Renee Breaux Giffin, Cum Laude; Ian Christopher Hoerner, Cum Laude; Katherine Maree Ibarra, Cum Laude; Jessica Blair Benton Milburn, Cum Laude; Kayla Richard Moscona, Summa Cum Laude; Daniel Chinedu Okafor, Archdiocese of New Orleans, Magna Cum Laude; Anh Tuan Chau Phan, Diocese of Nashville; Luke Anthony Robicheaux, Summa Cum Laude; Duane Christopher Trombetta, Diocese of Shreveport, Magna Cum Laude; Michaela Denise York, Summa Cum Laude.

Graduating with a Master of Arts in Pastoral Leadership were:  Agnes Kyomuhendo Bitature, Summa Cum Laude; Therese K. Derbes, Summa Cum Laude, Ronald J. Drez Jr, Summa Cum Laude; Jody John Fortunato, Summa Cum Laude; Judy Bourgeois Zeringue, Cum Laude.

Graduating with a Master of Arts (Philosophy for Theological Studies) were:  Daniel Patrick Fitzgerald, Archdiocese of Atlanta, Magna Cum Laude; David Patrick Keran, Diocese of Alexandria Magna Cum Laude; Steven Michael Shlapak, Archdiocese of Atlanta, Cum Laude; Kyle Robert Simonis, Archdiocese of Atlanta, Cum Laude.

Graduating with a Master of Divinity were: Hector Arvizu-Mancilla, Diocese of Tyler; Paul Joseph Birdsall, Diocese of Houma Thibodaux; Blake Steven Dubroc, Diocese of Lafayette, Magna Cum Laude; Roselio Fuentes-Jimenez, Diocese of Tyler; Timothy Andrew Grimes, Diocese of Baton Rouge, Magna Cum Laude; Felix Hinambona, Archdiocese of Tororo, Magna Cum Laude; Korey Ray LaVergne, Diocese of Lafayette, Magna Cum Laude; Francis Kariuki Matiru, Franciscan Missionaries of Hope, Magna Cum Laude; Kien Trung Nguyen, Archdiocese of New Orleans, Magna Cum Laude; Thien The Nguyen, Archdiocese of New Orleans; Augustine Ouma Odhiambo, Franciscan Missionaries of Hope, Magna Cum Laude; Cletus Okwuchukwu Orji, Archdiocese of New Orleans, Cum Laude; Stephen Andre Pellessier, Diocese of Lafayette, Magna Cum Laude; Andrew Phillip Schumacher, Diocese of Lafayette, Magna Cum Laude; Brent Lee Smith, Diocese of Lafayette, Summa Cum Laude; Aaron Michael Williams, Diocese of Jackson, Magna Cum Laude; Damian Patrick Zablocki, Archdiocese of New Orleans.

Graduating with a Bachelor of Philosophy (Philosophy for Theological Studies) were: Samuel Jacob Andereck, Diocese of Memphis, Charles Joseph Deering II, Diocese of Birmingham; Joseph Alphonse DiMaggio III, Archdiocese of New Orleans, Nicholas Eugene Duncan, Diocese of Shreveport, Patrick Louis Held Jr, Diocese of Nashville; Jeffrey Austin Merritt, Archdiocese of New Orleans, Cum Laude; Viet Xuan Pham, Archdiocese of Atlanta; James Patrick Rome, Diocese of Houma Thibodaux, Cum Laude.

Receiving a Completion Certificate in the Ordination Preparation Program were:  Martin Ahiaba, Diocese of Tyler, Dominic J Arcuri, Archdiocese of New Orleans; Joey Thomas Lirette, Diocese of Houma Thibodaux.

Receiving a Completion Certificate in the Pre-Theology Program were:  Giakhai (Kevin) Nguyen, Archdiocese of Atlanta; Dennis Joseph O’Donnell, Diocese of Dallas.

DOLC Campaign
Support The Diocese
Event Registration
Grief to Grace
Rachel's Vineyard

Together For Life

Diocesan Policies & Guidelines

2017 DOLC Audit