Welcome to the Diocese of Lake Charles

LAKE CHARLES – Bishop Glen John Provost celebrated the 2019 Heritage Day Mass in the Convent Chapel of Christus St. Patrick Hospital on Friday, March 15, the Friday of the First Week of Lent. Father Brian King, Pastoral Care Director for the hospital, and Father Charles Okorougo, hospital chaplain, concelebrated.

Bishop Glen John Provost, left, blesses
the walls of bricks located in Grace
Gardens of CHRISTUS Ochsner
Health Southwestern Louisiana
on Friday, March 15. Reverend
Ruben Buller, center, and
Reverend Brian King, right,
assist the Bishop.
The Bishop celebrated the
Heritage Mass in the Convent
Chapel before taking part
in the hospital’s annual
anniversary celebrations and
the dedication of the Garden
Wall in Grace Gardens.


Following the Mass, Bishop Provost took part in the annual anniversary celebration and dedication of the Garden Wall of  Grace Gardens, located by the Convent Chapel, Grace Gardens. It is a quiet, green space with fountains and benches where people can sit, meditate and experience God’s healing presence and love.

The names of all those individuals and couples for whom friends and loved ones honored or memorialized with the purchase of a brick through the CHRISTUS St. Patrick Foundation were announced.

According to Kay Barnett, CFRE, Executive Director of Development for CHRISTUS Ochsner Southwestern Louisiana Foundation, “This unique opportunity allows people to give back to programs that provide comfort, care and healing to others – what a meaningful way to celebrate and remember loved ones as well as help others throughout the year.

The anniversary celebration commemorates the healing heritage of CHRISTUS Health. For more than 150 years, its sponsoring congregations, The Sisters of Charity of the Incarnate Word of Houston and of San Antonio and The Sisters of the Holy Family of Nazareth, have answered Jesus’ invitation to serve in response to the needs of others, particularly individuals and families who live in poverty and are the most vulnerable.

CHRISTUS Health honors the healing legacy entrusted to us by our sponsors and remembers the history and heritage of our founders, sponsors and individuals who chose to answer the call “to extend the healing ministry of Jesus Christ.”

Locally, CHRISTUS Ochsner Southwest Louisiana Health has been serving Southwest Louisiana for 110 years, during which time the charitable support from this community has made a major impact on both CHRISTUS and local families.      

Because of this community’s generosity, the health system has made significant strides in the medical technology and essential healthcare services provided to this region, including improving pediatric medical care services and health education opportunities through the nationally recognized Children’s Miracle Network program.

The CHRISTUS Ochsner Southwestern Louisiana Foundation oversees the philanthropic efforts of the CHRISTUS facilities in this region, including annual fundraisers, special events, major gift fundraising, capital campaigns, and planned
giving. The Foundation provides an opportunity for the community to give to an area of care where the donor wants to make the most impact. Areas of support include the John & Sylvia Stelly Regional Heart Center, the Regional Cancer Center, Women’s Health Services including our newly established James W. Gardiner Breast Center, Neurosurgery and Orthopaedics, Children’s Services, Behavioral Health, and more.

Johnny Abraham
Lona Faye Abraham
Mildred Irene Harlan Abraham
Jordan Tyler Adams
Margaret Jones Aday
Cecil Adrian
Harry Lee Aguillard
Bettylu Irene Allen
Agnes Marie Amidon
Henry “Bud” Amy
Dorothy Jackson Anderson
Ruth Edwina “Pud” Anderson
Dorothy Appleby
George Webner Ash
Gladys “Charlene” Atterbery
Raymond Aucoin
Richard W. “Rick” Bagley
Margaret Ann David Benoit
Concetta Hidalgo Billedeaux
James Clarkson “Clark” Bonin
Margaret Field Boudreau
Dianna Guillory Boykin
John Nicholas Brewer
Joseph Brignac
Edna Stelly Brittain
Peggy Blackwell Bruce
Bennie Louis Buller
Joe Dae Burns
Debra Suzann Campbell
Dr. Joe Cash, Ph.D.
Thomas “Tom” Clarke Jr.
Althea Mae Meaux Cox
James Cox
Neil Randall Crain
Mary Elizabeth Burns Crawford
Dorothy Marie Roy Dane
Mary Jolene Beaugh David
Mary Vernest Abshire Dennis
LeRoy Otto DeReese Jr.
Elmer Ray Doise
Alice LeDoux Drum
Lee Anna Dubrock
Joan Carter Duchmann
Nancy Houston Ellis
Elfriede Scherer Erickson
Janet Marie Faul
Laura Fellows
Command Sergeant Major
Charles Lawrence Finney
Lavonne Lee Finney
Leopold Vincent Fischer Jr.
Bryan Dwayne Fontenot
Carolyn Ann Foreman Fontenot
Floyd Vincent Fontenot
Louise Hebert Fontenot
Marie Bossier Foret
John N. Frank
Margaret Harland Gill
Dr. Ben Goldsmith
Bob Goldsmith
Arleen Evelyn Schnaath Goode
David Scott Guillory
Barbara Dever Gutierrez
Gertrude Harris
Louise Alice Frati Harris
Robert Harris
Shirley Arvilla Marcantel Harst
Jeanne Leoniel Farque Hartman
William “Bill” Stewart Hauskins
Thomas Gerard Hebert
Jerald “Sonny Boy” Helms
Nona Roberts Helms
Rebecca Copher Hemphill
Ruby Henke
Ray Montgomery Feldes Henrich
Sarah Ann Henry
Michael J. Horak
Constance Lucy McDowell Houk
Gloria Ellen Manning Jackson
Clayton C. Jacobs
Karen Jinks
Marjorie “Betty” Elizabeth
Chisum King
Maizie Mendoza Knuckles
Steven P. Krause
Dorothy “Coonie” Sonnier Lawton
John Henry “Scooter” LeBleu II
Terry James LeDoux
Robert D. Lege
Danielle Marie Frank-Lemon
Catherine Ross Liberto
Sam Salvador Lisotta
Alice Welch Little
Marguerite Carrier Little
Lloyd “L G” George Lopez
Verna Mary Louviere
Tillie Natali Lungaro
Sister Aloysius Mannion, CCVI
Kathryn Carter Mc Calla
Madelene D. McNabb
Thomas Blair Meyers
Remy Daniel “Danny” Miller II
Judge Patricia Head Minaldi
Ola May Natali
Beth Hope Njeri
Kay Frances Noble
Isabel “Bel” Thornton Painter
Ryaney Wayne “Ronnie” Parish
Gloria Bridges Parker
John Allen Petty
Taylor Devin Phillips
Carla Allene Pottorff
Charlene Ware Prejean
Bennett James “Jim” Reaves III
Elizabeth Singletary Richard
Ronald “Casey” Richard
Jo Ann Bassham Rigney
Lena Vidrine Roach
Larry A. “Bee” Roach Jr.
Elsie Roberts
Kerry Lyn Roberts
Oneil Roberts
Bevo Rome Jr.
Hazel Savoie
Sono Savoie
Quinten Lawrence Savoie
Sister Benedict Shannon, CCVI
Mitzi Marie St. Romain
Ramone Stanford
Sister Monica (Frances Marie) Stelly
Rose Stevens
Dorothy Jean Veillon Stroud
Brian Ward Taylor
Clarice Manning Taylor
Janet Marie Graybill Tenos
Lucas George Terracina
Roy Rogers Tezeno Sr.
John Chadick “Chad” Thielen
Joseph Morris Thomas
Shirley Blair Thomas
Anita Roshelle King Tigner
George Wilfred Trahan
Deacon Glenn Christopher Viau
Kary Lamont Vincent
Yvonne Elizabeth Wainwright
Bobby Ray Wall
Dr. Lesley Martin “Les” Warshaw Sr.
James Richard “Jimbo” Webb
Benjamin “Benny” Welch Sr.
Linda Gayle Welch
Dona Claire Braud White
Eve Ina “Teen” Wicke
B. Scott Wood
Charlyne Smith Wyche
Nancy Naff Wyman
James Lonee Young
Rudolph “Rudy” Odo Young Jr.
George “Buddy” Zagone

Dr. Abdel Abu Shamat
Debbie Amy
Dr. David Buttross III
Dr. John L. Cocchiara
Ainsley Dane DeSonier
Rachel Dugas
Bonnie Ford
Dr. Richard Gilmore
Mr. & Mrs. Denis (Linda) Husers
Senator Ronnie Johns
Dr. Percival Kane
Timothy King
Mr. & Mrs. Lenn (Ann) Knapp
Dr. and Mrs. Richard (Gaye) Landry
Ra’Shonee Gibson Lavergne
Donna Lechtenberg
Mr. and Mrs. William
(Catherine) Lowry Sr.
Dr. and Mrs. John F.
(Eleanor) Moffett
Dr. Baron Newton
John Noble III
Mr. and Mrs. Alfred (Margaret) Palma
Dr. Arthur Primeaux
Stephen Rothermel
Shanna Thibodeaux
Mr. and Mrs. Milton “Mickey” (Vicky) White
Dr. Luke M. Williams

Live Stream Coronavirus Updates
DOLC Campaign
Support The Diocese
Event Registration
Grief to Grace
Rachel's Vineyard

Together For Life

Diocesan Policies & Guidelines

DOLC Financial Statements