Welcome to the Diocese of Lake Charles

LAKE CHARLES – Bishop Glen John Provost was aided by Rev. Trey Ange, Chaplain of the Catholic Committee on Scouting of the Diocese of Lake Charles, in presenting religious emblems to worthy scouts at the annual Bishop’s Brunch Saturday, April 6.

Father Ange prayed the Invocation and Blessing with Colonel (Retired) John Halloran, a past national chairman of the Catholic Committee on Scouting, welcoming the scouts, their parents and guests. At the conclusion of the event, Bishop Provost offered the Benediction.

Receiving the God is Love award was Jaylee Cahilog. The God is Love program is designed for use with students who are in kindergarten or first grade. It helps students discover an appreciation that God created, cares for, and loves us all.

Family of God awards were earned by Sylvia Armentor, Jayle Cahilog, Piper Fusilier, Ellie Gage, Isabella Lafosse, and Isabella Polito. Family of God is the official religious recognition program for children grades second and third who are enrolled in the Girl Scouts, Camp Fire, American Heritage Girls, and other Catholic youth organizations. The program is a bilingual activity series developed to complement the catechetical efforts of the parish and families with children. It m helps children discover the presence of God in their daily lives as members of their family and parish.

Earning the Light of Christ Religious Emblem were Maddox Doucet, Aeden Plunk, and Dillion Sonnier. The Light of Christ program was developed by the National Catholic Committee on Scouting under the auspices of the National Conference of Catholic Bishops. In order to receive the Light of Christ emblem, the scout must complete all requirements before he starts the third grade.

Bishop Glen John Provost, Father
Trey Ange, and religious emblem

Those earning the Parvuli Dei emblem and medal were Seth Cormier, Audi Fuselier, Luke LeBeouf , Zachary LeBeouf, Elena Grace Lorenzi, Heyd Murphy, Keelan McCall, Casey Reed, Aiden Ritchie, and Kaden Trent.

The Parvuli Dei (Children of God) emblem is a recognition that the Catholic Church presents to Cub and Webelo Scouts for advancement in religious knowledge and spiritual formation.

Three earned the Altare Dei emblem – Jacob LaBouve, J. R. Watts, and Darnell Taylor.

The Ad Altare Dei program is designed to equip the Scout to take his place in the world as a maturing Catholic and a maturing American.

Recipients of the Bronze Pelican, which is used to recognize individuals in local dioceses for their significant contributions, were Father Trey Ange and Nick Limberis.

Receiving the St. George Emblem, a National Catholic Committee on Scouting award given to adults as a recognition of the recipient’s outstanding contribution to the spiritual development of Catholic youth in the program of the Boy Scouts of America in the Diocese, was Amanda Cahilog and Kristina Lounsberry.

Amanda Cahilog and Cassie Gage were recipients of the St. Elizabeth Ann Seton award, which recognized their significant contributions serving the spiritual needs of Catholic members in organizations serving girls and this field of youth ministry. It was created by the Department of Education, USCC (now USCCB), in 1980.

Members of the Catholic Committee on Scouting for the Diocese of Lake Charles are Father Ange, Chaplain; Kristina Lounsberry, Chairman; Scott Lounsberry; Marty Berry; Jimmy Berry, Lannie Fuselier, Scott Willis, Amanda Cahilog, Susan Fontenot, John Halloran, Shawn Chamblee, Boy Scouts of America Representative, Richard Roy, Danella Taylor, Theresa Fruge, Amanda Saltzman, Floyd Saltzman, Cassie Cage, Joe Castro, David Marcantel, Donn Dees, Billy Simmons, and Christine Koll.

New Chancery Live Stream Hurricane Fund
Support The Diocese
Event Registration
Diocese of Lake Charles Vocations
Grief to Grace
Rachel's Vineyard

Diocesan Policies & Guidelines 2023

Together For Life

DOLC Financial Statements