News and Press

Information and Announcements About The Diocese

June 6, 2023
WASHINGTON – On June 24, 2022, the Supreme Court of the United States issued its ruling in Dobbs v. Jackson Women’s Health Organization, which overturned the Roe v. Wade decision that legalized abortion in all 50 states. In advance of the anniversary of the Court’s landmark decision, Bishop Michael F. Burbidge of Arlington, chairman of the U.S. Conference of Catholic Bishops’ Committee on Pro-Life Activities, issued a statement celebrating Dobbs and explaining how the Court’s decision marked the beginning of a critical new phase in protecting human life:

By Pamela Seal 
Diocese of Lake Charles 

LAKE CHARLES — A memorable moment toward the conclusion of the Sacrament of Holy Orders is when the newly ordained priest uses his hands to bless the bishop who, a short while before, ordained the priest with the laying on of hands and prayer of consecration.  

His Excellency, The Most Reverend Glen John Provost, Bishop of Lake Charles, was on the receiving end of such a blessing after he ordained Reverend Stephen Joshua Page to the priesthood on Saturday, May 27, the eve of Pentecost, in the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception. 

LAKE CHARLES — On Tuesday, May 16, St. Louis Catholic High School awarded degrees to the Class of 2023 during a commencement ceremony in the Burton Coliseum Complex.

The St. Louis Award — the most prestigious award of the school — was presented to the male and female senior student voted as the outstanding Christian student by their peers and approved by members of the faculty, staff and administration. The 2023 recipients are Coleman Joseph Zeringue and Mary Claire Groves. 

2023 St. Louis Award recipients, Coleman Zeringue
and Mary Claire Groves, join Bishop Glen John Provost,
following the award presentation during the
St. Louis Catholic High School commencement
ceremony on May 16.
(Photo credit: Morris LeBleu / Diocese of Lake Charles)

The St. Louis Award, made possible by the Lake Charles Serra Club, is presented to students who have shown Love of God and Neighbor, Strong Moral Character, Desire to Serve Community, Courage to Stand up for Christian Principles, a Daily Christian Lifestyle, and Proper Use of God-Given gifts.

Class valedictorian is Cody Jacob Lyons, and salutatorian is Hannah Marie Williams.

Graduates of the Class of 2023 are:

Mason John Abshire, Thomas Scott Alley, Robert Ross Anderson, Grace Olivia Ardoin, Alana Michelle Arredondo, Kyleigh Anne Atkins, Jackson Drew Avery, Ariba Awan, Olivia Chloe Bergen, Addison James Bertrand, Benjamin Morrison Bertrand, Madison Monique Blanchette, Tucker Scott Bridges, Emma Kathryn Bright, William Clay Bright, Evan Joseph Broussard, Audrey Clare Brown, Jonathan Franklin Buckhalter, Madelyn Mansour Buttross, Luke Owen Caballero, Noah Alexander Chaumont, Lexie Paige Chauvin, Kiley Madison Church, Luke William Churchman, Wyatt Regan Cobb, Gunner Thomas Coleman, Tyson Andrew Colletta, Mia Catherine Cruickshank, Dillon Patrick Darby, Annalina Mae David, William Randall Davis, Norma Gail Dedear, and Olivia Abigail DeRouen;

Also, Camdyn Rita Durousseau, Grant Wade Evans, Emma Sue Findley, Adam Isaac Foreman, John Noah Foret, Jalynn Alexis Friddle, Nicholas Gabriel Fuselier, Dy’Mond Da’Nae Gallien, Caroline Olivia George, Kenneth Henry Gil, Aubrey Sophia Gilbert, Mary Claire Groves, Elena Patricia Guidry, Abigail Grace Guillory; Lana Jolie Guillory, Miles Jeremy Guillory, Paris Nikole Guillory, Brooks Joseph Habetz, Mia Catherine Hanks, Kimora Lee Harrison, Aden Harris Hayes, John Michael Hebert, Blair Evelyn Henry, Malia Noemi Hubbard, John Paul Michael Istre, Hayden Christopher Jackson, Holden Scott Jackson, Emma Elizabeth Jarreau, Camille Eve Karriker, Ragan Joy Kee, Neely Ayub-Ijaz Khan, Kyndal Elizabeth Kohnke, Jake Joseph Larocca, and Conner Patrick Leblanc;

Also, Gabrielle Hope Link-Gabbard, Grace Katherine Link-Gabbard, Cody Jacob Lyons, Jude Christian Manley, Samantha Faith Manuel, Abby Claire Maples, Ashlee Marie Maples, Mollie Margurite Maze, Emma Grace McCall, Bennett Anderson McElveen, John Luke Durel McGee, Lauren Kate McGuire, Avery Hudson Meche, Jacques Ramon Metoyer, Michael Andrew Meyers, Waylon John Miller, Henry Joseph Milligan, Drew Mitchell Morgan, Nicklaus Thomas Moriarty, Rodeny Fuller Mundy, Alisyn Claire Myers, Cecile Carr Obyrne, Billie McKenzie Painter, Ranee Rahul Patel, Milo Joseph Perzo, Karli Elizabeth Peshoff, Gavin Charles Phillips, Kassie Grace Piatt, Ava Rose Price, Hudson Ryan Price, Rachel Anne Redd, James David Reina, Kai David Reinauer, and Kassidy Elizabeth Richard; 

Also, Kennedy Elise Richard, Katherine Grace Rion, Stuart Anthony Riviere, Andrew Thomas Roach, Nathan Blake Roach, Charles Cameron Romano, Katelyn Reiss Schlang, Kaelana Soriya Marie Schultz, Ella Booker Scroggs, Ella Clare Segura, Samuel Reeves Slade, William Reid Snider, Chaise Morgan Sutherland, Landon Paul Templet, Harnoor Singh Thind, Karanbir Singh Thind, Kendal Reese Touchet, Kenzie Claire Touchet, George Joseph Trappey, Reed Matthew Traylor, Megan Kesiena Ughovwa, James Alexander Upshaw, Jacob Lynn Verzwyvelt, Julia Ann Walker, Anna Gayle Watson, Cecilia Marie Watson, Hannah Marie Williams, Colton James Wood, Ethan Jude Woods, Emily Jane Wrobel, and Coleman Joseph Zeringue.

Mrs. Mia Touchet is Principal, and Mr. Blaine Wyninger is Assistant Principal. Chaplain is Reverend Andrew DeRouen; and Rector is Reverend Nathan Long. The Very Reverend Ruben Villarreal serves as Dean of Christian Philosophy of Academics.