News and Press

Information and Announcements About The Diocese

By Pamela Seal
Diocese of Lake Charles

No matter what side of the abortion issue you are on — pro-life or pro-choice — one thing is certain. The life of a child is lost every single time. Whether the abortion took place last week, last year or even 30 years ago, Marjorie Long wants people to know something else that is certain: forgiveness and healing through a Rachel’s Vineyard Retreat.

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — Family is the focus of the next multimedia Ave Explores series — Ave Explores: Catholic Family Life — hosted by Katie Prejean McGrady of Lake Charles.

Ave Explores: Catholic Family Life kicked off Wednesday, August 19, and will feature podcasts, an article, social media exclusives, and Facebook Live events each week through September 11. Contributors include Jackie and Bobby Angel, Emily Jaminet, Kathryn Whitaker, Damon and Melanie Owens, Timothy P. O’Malley, Fr. Cassidy Stinson, Danielle Bean, Ryan McQuade, and Lisa M. Hendey.

The newest Ave Explores series will celebrate the diversity of families and their role in the Church. From singles to couples with many children and from priests and religious to grandparents and grandchildren, viewers will learn how each family is called to holiness and to share their faith with the world.

The Ave Explores podcast is available on Apple Podcasts, Spotify, and Google Play Music. Sign up to receive limited-time, weekly emails about new stories, podcasts, and Facebook Live events for Ave Explores: Catholic Family Life at

The Most Reverend Glen John Provost, Bishop of Lake Charles, has announced the receipt of a sizeable legacy, perhaps the largest contribution ever made to the Diocese of Lake Charles, from the estate of Elizabeth Singletary Richard and her late husband, Leslie R., both longtime residents of Cameron Parish.