Welcome to the Diocese of Lake Charles

SAINT BENEDICT, La. — Philip James Seilhan of the Diocese of Lake Charles was among 29 students to graduate from Saint Joseph Seminary College.

Saint Joseph Seminary College awarded diplomas or certificates during the 131st Baccalaureate Mass and Commencement Exercises at Saint Joseph Abbey Church on Friday, May 13. Seilhan’s home parish is Our Lady Help of Christians Catholic Church in Jennings.

Philip James Seilhan receives his diploma during
commencement at Saint Joseph Seminary College
in Saint Benedict, La., on May 13.

Twenty-four students received their Bachelor of Arts degrees. Five students completed the school’s two-year pre-theology program, designed primarily for second-career candidates or other college graduates who did not previously participate in a seminary formation program but are now preparing to enter a Roman Catholic theologate.
The Rev. Sam Fontana, Dean of Students, gave the commencement address. Father Fontana (Diocese of Lafayette) is completing his fifth and final year on the formation and academic faculty. 
The Class of 1964 Father Paul Miranne Service Award was presented during the ceremony to Angel Crespo of the Diocese of El Paso. The award is given annually to a graduate who has performed quiet service, without publicity or fanfare, during his time at Saint Joseph Seminary College. The Rev. Matthew Clark, O.S.B., Vice Rector and Director of Alumni Affairs, presented the award.

The Most Reverend Gregory M. Aymond, Archbishop of New Orleans and Chancellor of Saint Joseph Seminary College, and the Very Reverend Gregory M. Boquet, O.S.B., President-Rector of Saint Joseph Seminary College, presented diplomas and certificates to graduates. Dr. Daniel Burns, Academic Dean, presented the academic hoods.
The following students received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Philosophy and the Liberal Arts: Joseph Gaten Armstrong, Archdiocese of Mobile; Matthew Cole Austin, Archdiocese of Atlanta; Christian Alexander Baca, Diocese of Biloxi; Anthony Michael Carosone, Archdiocese of Atlanta; Jeremy Luke Chiasson, Diocese of Baton Rouge; Steven Colton Couch, Archdiocese of Atlanta; Miguel Marlon De La Torre, Diocese of Fort Worth; Kelello Jean-Marie Joseph Tsepo Descher, Archdiocese of Atlanta; and Andrew Christopher Fourcade, Archdiocese of New Orleans. 
Also, James Millennium Grossheim, Diocese of Nashville; Evan Louis Hebert, Diocese of Lafayette; Jacob Anthony LeBlanc, Diocese of Lafayette; Stephen Paul Melancon, Diocese of Lafayette; Duc Huynh Nguyen, Archdiocese of Atlanta; Juan Humberto Perales, Diocese of Beaumont; Ross Reynolds, Archdiocese of New Orleans; Philip James Seilhan, Diocese of Lake Charles; Paul John Trinh, Diocese of Fort Worth; Andrew Charles Wentworth, Archdiocese of Mobile; and Cole Joseph Zaunbrecher, Diocese of Lafayette.
The following students received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Philosophy and Theological Studies: Angel Crespo, Diocese of El Paso; William Joseph Foggo, Diocese of Jackson; Thienngon Ba “Christian” Mai, Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston; and Trieu Hai Nguyen, Archdiocese of Galveston-Houston.
The following students received a Certificate of Completion in the Pre-Theology Program: Heath Fulmer, Diocese of Pensacola-Tallahassee; Matthais McKown Laywell, Diocese of Pensacola-Tallahassee; Christopher Gavin Stewart, Diocese of Pensacola-Tallahassee; Michael Trent Barton, Diocese of Fort Worth; and Roberto Carlos Herrera, Diocese of Dallas.

New Chancery Live Stream Hurricane Fund
Support The Diocese
Event Registration
Diocese of Lake Charles Vocations
Grief to Grace
Rachel's Vineyard

Diocesan Policies & Guidelines 2023

Together For Life

DOLC Financial Statements